Baked Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Woke up at 7am to a beautiful Autumn day in Perth. The sky is beautifully clear but there’s a definite chill in the mornings! So the fluffy slippers and apron went straight on and I headed to the kitchen to make a delicious comfort breakfast. I don’t know about you, but the smell of baking apples and cinnamon is one of the best smells in the world when the weather starts to turn cold.
20130524-102654.jpg
Last night I was browsing through Pinterest and came across this ‘Baked Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal’ and I knew I would be eating it for brekkie in the morning! The original recipe is by Food, Fitness & Family but I’ve adapted it to make it completely clean [and swapped an ingredient because I didn’t have it ;-)]

20130524-102130.jpg

Ingredients (6 servings)

  • 2 cups rolled oats
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt (I just used literally a dash of salt coz I try to limit added salt)
  • 1/2 cup raisins (I didn’t have these so I left them out)
  • 2 tablespoons Stevia (swapped for pure honey)
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon (added a little bit more than that coz i luuuuurve cinnamon!)
  • 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1 tablespoon ground flax
  • 1 tablespoon chia seeds
  • 2 cups diced apples
  • 1 egg
  • 1/3 cup egg whites (4 whites) (I used three whole eggs in total – so three eggs including the one above)
  • 1 cup unsweetened coconut milk (swapped for woolworths macro light soy drink)
  • 1 cup water
  • dash of organic vanilla essence

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 180 degrees Celsius.
  2. In a large bowl, mix together the oats, baking powder, salt, honey, cinnamon, nutmeg, chia seeds, and flax. Stir in the apples and set aside.
  3. In a small bowl, whisk together the eggs. Add the milk, water, and vanilla. Pour over the dry mixture and stir to combine.
  4. Pour everything into a glass 7x11in baking dish or an 8x8in baking dish.
  5. Cook for 50-55 minutes or until golden brown.

The smell was incredible – one of those things you wish you could capture but just cant; there is no way to recreate or describe an amazing smell and give it justice.

20130524-102948.jpg

I served mine with Greek yogurt (Chobani 2% low fat plain is the BEST greek yogurt I have found – can buy it at Woolworths) and mixed frozen berries (Season’s Choice Four Berry Mix).

I sat outside and savoured every mouthful I ate, it was really that good! Exactly what I needed to start my Friday morning. You could also have it as a dessert too, curled up on the couch with a good book after dinner!

20130524-103227.jpg

Happy baking! xo

12 thoughts on “Baked Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

  1. I made a batch that was 11/2 the recipe quantity and used apple and mixed frozen berries – absolutely beautiful xx

      • I have made cauliflower pizza base and its really lovely – I was just concerned about the cheese in it and how that affects it being clean.
        The trick with the base is to cook it obviously on a pizza tray, then once cooked turn it out onto a rack and bake again for maybe 10 minutes – it makes the base firmer. Then let them go cold before using them.
        Pre-cooking meat and onion that you might use for topping, when you use the bases is important too, as they don’t require much time in the oven.

      • Thanks for the tips Annette!
        My view on cheese is basically that its okay in moderation. So not going overboard with how much you use! And I make sure it doesn’t have any unknown preservatives/additives etc.
        alternatively, you could use cottage cheese, ricotta or fetta which have a lower saturated fat content, it will just give it a different flavour.
        I will definitely have to give the cauliflower bases a go soon!
        Thanks again,
        Hayley

Leave a Reply

