Banana Yogurt Muffins

More baking!

This may or may not have to do with exam study I’m supposed to be doing… I’m sure you’ve all heard the term procrastibaking ? Well yeah, I would say that’s me today. After this post I swear I will!

20130525-220231.jpg

Anyway, discovered this recipe from Southern In Law ‘s site which I have recently found and decided to whip up a batch. Again, made some modifications to make it completely clean and they tasted de-li-cious !

20130525-220336.jpg

Flax Banana Yogurt Muffins
Makes 12 muffins.
Ingredients:
  • 2 cup GF pancake mix/GF flour/plain flour/wholewheat flour (I used wholemeal self raising flour)
  • 1 tsp baking soda (If you use self raising flour you don’t need to add this)
  • 2.5 tbsp ground flaxseed
  • 3 large bananas, mashed (about 1.5C mashed)
  • 1/2 cup Chobani plain greek yogurt (I used the 2% low fat version)
  • 1/4 cup applesauce (I didn’t use this – just added an extra 1/4 cup of Greek yogurt)
  • 1/4 -1/2 cup brown sugar (I used 1/4 cup pure honey – if you like it sweeter add more but use less of the yogurt)
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract (I just added a dash of organic vanilla essence)
  • 1 tsp chia seeds (not on the original recipe but I decided to add them in)
  • Cinnamon (I’m a cinnamon addict! Added this in too – use your own judgement of how much you want based on taste preferences!)
  • Nutmeg (another addition – just a sprinkle to taste)
  • Walnuts (not on the original recipe but I added some to the top of a few muffins just to try it out!)
Method:
  1. Preheat oven to 180Β°C.
  2. Prepare muffins tins (grease or line) – I used silicon muffin cases and they are amazing! No need to grease and the muffins popped right out of them so easy. Definitely a good investment (thanks to my roommate who owns some ;-))
  3. In a large bowl mix flour, ground flaxseed, chia seeds, cinnamon and nutmeg.
  4. In a medium bowl mash banana and add yogurt, honey and vanilla. Mix together wet ingredients until combined.
  5. Mix wet and dry ingredients until just combined and pour into muffin cups.
  6. If you desire, place a walnut (or half depending on size) on top of muffins and push into the mixture a little bit.
  7. Bake for 20-25 minutes or until the tops are browned and a skewer inserted removes clean.

20130525-220553.jpg

Okay, okay! I’m off to do some study now, I promise… Until lunchtime πŸ˜‰

xo

5 thoughts on “Banana Yogurt Muffins

  1. Pingback: Wholemeal Banana Yogurt, Coconut, Oat and Honey Muffins | teagzteagz

Leave a Reply

