Winter Roast Veges & Warm Quinoa, Avocado & Feta Salad

Although it’s technically not winter yet, the temperature drop recently has made me feel like it is (10 degrees at night is cold right? Maybe its just the tiles in my room making me feel like I’m in an igloo…)

And a cold “winter” night to me says roasted vegetables! The smell of rosemary wafting through the kitchen is a comforting one – it just always reminds me of home. My parents always cook up a mean roast but I don’t think they would have ever thought they’d see the day when I would make a big batch of roast veges for myself (to say that I was a ‘fussy eater’ when I was younger is a slight understatement… sorry guys! :P)

I decided to whip up a quick quinoa salad too as a side – easy to make and just adds something else to the meal since I’m not roasting any meat. Both meals take minimal preparation and will make heaps of leftovers!

When I started preparing my veges I realised that I didn’t have any rosemary in the house – I ummed and ahhed for a while but made the decision to run down to the IGA and grab some and it was definitely a good call. Garlic and rosemary go together like peas and corn (except I don’t like peas so that’s never been a combo that works for me ;)). I took the scenic route to make it worthwhile and got treated to a pretty view of Perth across the Swan River (sorry iPhone quality).

IMG_1407

Winter Roast Vegetables

Prep: 10 mins (or 20mins if you need to run down to the IGA like me!)
Cooking: 45 – 60 mins

Ingredients (not limited to these – add in veges to your hearts content!)

  • Pumpkin
  • Sweet Potato
  • Carrot
  • Red onion
  • Cup mushrooms
  • Eggplant (not a traditional roast vege but I needed to use it so in it went!)
  • Garlic cloves
  • Fresh Rosemary sprigs
  • Mixed herbs
  • Extra Virgin Olive Oil

Method

  1. Turn oven on to 190 degrees.
  2. Cut up all the veges (except the mushrooms-keep those separate) into pieces (doesn’t matter what size or shape, although thinner/smaller cook quicker) and place in a mixing bowl. Cut up garlic into smallish pieces (or keep them whole).
  3. Pour 2 – 3 tablespoons of olive oil, a tablespoon or so of mixed herbs and several springs of rosemary in the bowl.
  4. Mix together so that all the pieces are coated with the oil and herbs.
  5. Place all vegetables on a wire rack that is sitting on top of a baking tray wrapped with aluminium foil. Spread the veges out so they have some breathing space and place in the oven.
  6. Cook for anywhere between 45 mins to an hour. They should be easily pierced with a fork when they’re ready. Keep checking on them at 20 minute intervals, turning the veges if they need it. Place the whole cup mushrooms in the tray at the first 20 minute mark.

20130525-215259.jpg

Warm Quinoa, Avocado & Feta Salad

Prep: 5 mins
Cooking: 15 – 20 mins
Serves: 2

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup uncooked quinoa (makes about 1 cup cooked quinoa)
  • 1/2 avocado
  • Baby spinach leaves
  • 1/2 small shallot (thinly sliced)
  • Cherry tomatoes
  • Low fat Feta cheese
  • Walnuts (cut into smaller pieces)
  • Red capsicum
  • Green capsicum
  • Dried parsley flakes

Method

  1. Cook quinoa as per instructions (I did mine on the stove top: rinse quinoa in a sieve before adding to a saucepan, add 1 cup of water and bring to the boil. Reduce to a simmer and cook for 10 – 15 mins or until the liquid is absorbed. Keep an eye on it and stir occasionally).
  2. Mash the avocado in a bowl before adding to the quinoa and mix together. Leave to cool slightly.
  3. Place in a bowl and add other ingredients (you be the judge of how much of each you want! I’ve never been one for exact quantities for this kind of thing – although remember to get the right portion size of the cheese!)

20130525-215417.jpg

And dinner is served! Definitely a happy and satisfied tummy tonight πŸ™‚ which I will need to get me through the study I’m planning on powering through! Exam time makes for such exciting Saturday nights… #unistudentlife

20130525-215903.jpg

Enjoy! xo

6 thoughts on “Winter Roast Veges & Warm Quinoa, Avocado & Feta Salad

  1. Haha Hayley got to site all by myself! Didn’t need E’s help at all. Amazing blog, I’m very impressed – Tanya

Leave a Reply

