Wholemeal Banana, Blueberry & Walnut Loaf

Hello again!

It was officially the first day of winter yesterday and Perth let us know about it! Woke up at 6.30am to go to a gym class and when I realised it was only 4 degrees I promptly resumed my snugged up position in bed and read my book for a while (just for the record, I went to another class in the afternoon in case you were judging my lack of commitment ;)).

Exams start on Tuesday for me, so I’ve still been chained to my desk studying each day… So to break up the boredom today I decided to make banana bread! I decided to take a risk and take bits and pieces from various recipes to make my own version, so I was a bit worried when I put it in the oven but turned out pretty good I think! I added blueberries and walnuts but those are optional depending on preferences πŸ™‚ I’m calling it a loaf also because of the way it turned out when it cooked – the top is quite hard like a loaf of bread and the shape resembles a loaf of sourdough due to the silicon baking container I used!

20130602-175140.jpg

Wholemeal Banana, Blueberry & Walnut Loaf
Serves: 12 (I cut this up into 12 pieces (not slices) but depends on how thick you like your slices)

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups wholemeal self raising flour
  • 3 large bananas (I only used 2 large bananas and there just wasn’t enough banana flavour!)
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup Chobani 2% Low Fat Greek Yogurt
  • 1 tbsp honey (add more if you have a sweet tooth – I could just barely taste the sweetness)
  • 1/2 cup blueberries (can also add more)
  • 1/4 cup chopped walnut pieces
  • 1 tbsp cinnamon
  • dash of nutmeg

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 180 degrees. Grease baking tin (or use a silicon like me).
  2. Stir together flour, nutmeg and cinnamon
  3. Mash banana in a bowl and whisk in the egg. Add the yogurt and honey and combine.
  4. Stir together the dry and wet mixtures (you may need to add more liquid if the mixture is too dry).
  5. Fold through the blueberries and walnuts.
  6. Place mixture in tin and bake for 50 minutes or until skewer comes out clean.
  7. 20130602-175238.jpg

    I think my experimental recipe was a success (for me anyway!). It doesn’t taste like your traditional banana bread (and mine just needed a touch more banana flavour!) but as clean eater it tastes good to me πŸ™‚ you might need to add and subtract ingredients based on your own personal taste but the basics are there for a good banana loaf!

    Enjoy your week everyone! xo

One thought on “Wholemeal Banana, Blueberry & Walnut Loaf

Leave a Reply

