The “I’ve Got a Whole Bunch of Vegetables to Use and No Time” Curry

As I’ve mentioned previously (only every post for the past two weeks) I’m currently studying for a buttload of exams (two done, three to go!) so time is not my friend at the moment. Times like these it’s tempting for people to just grab takeaway or resort to packet food, so I am here to show you that a simple, easy and delicious dinner can be whipped up in the time it would take for the pizza delivery guy to get to your house!

Best thing about tonight’s meal also was that I have heeeeaps of leftovers that I can pop in the freezer which means I have several meals ready for me to go when I really cannot be bothered to cook (it happens sometimes). Another great thing about this meal is that you can throw in as many vegetables and extras as you like, which is handy if you’re like me and had a bunch of vegetables that needed to be used pronto. So, the recipe is pretty much add/subtract what you like and adjust the quantities of the curry sauce as per taste preference.

20130605-191831.jpg

The curry is based on a recipe my mum gave me, originating from Tanzania where she has spent a lot of time, effort and money helping those who need it over there! You can visit this website for The School Of St Judeย to see where a lot of her effort goes into, it’s very inspiring stuff! I remember when she was on a trip there, the main source of food she ate was veges and beans and at the time I wouldn’t go near that stuff (again, was a bit of a fussy eater in my younger years!) and so she would laugh and say the meals were “Hayley’s Worst Nightmare”. However, here I am now making huge batches of the stuff all on my own accord! Who would have known hey E ๐Ÿ˜‰

The title of the curry will constantly change but tonight’s curry was:

Chicken, Chickpea & Sweet Potato Curry
Serves: probably get about 4-6 servings out of mine
Time: 10 minutes prep, 25 minutes cooking

Ingredients

  • One can of Macro Organic Diced Tomatoes (No Salt Added)
  • One can of Macro Organic Chickpeas (can use Kidney Beans or any other type)
  • One sweet potato
  • One skinless chicken breast (remove to make vegetarian – I just had to use up this chicken before it went off)
  • Cauliflower
  • Carrot
  • Red capsicum
  • Mushrooms
  • Zucchini
  • Baby spinach leaves
  • Red onion (I used about a quarter of one)ย [brown onion would be better but there’s none in my house!]
  • 3 cloves of fresh garlic
  • Extra virgin olive oil (about 2 teaspoons for cooking)
  • 1 tbsp tumeric
  • 1 tsp ground chilli powder
  • 1 tbsp cumin
  • About a cup of water (will change depending on how much veges you put in – need enough to cover them)
  • Half a lemon

Method

    1. Dice chicken and brown in a frying pan (don’t cook it all the way through, but get the basics done)
    2. Drain and rinse chickpeas in a strainer (to remove the excess salt)
    3. Chop vegetables into whatever size pieces suits your fancy (the smaller, the faster they cook)
    4. Dice the red onion and finely chop garlic (or use one of those handy garlic presses)
    5. Heat oil in a large saucepan and cook onion and garlic for 2 – 3 minutes
    6. Added tinned tomatoes, tumeric, chilli and cumin and stir through. Taste and adjust the spices as needed.
    7. Add the rest of the vegetables into the saucepan and add as much water as needed to cover them.
    8. Cover and reduce heat to a simmer. Leave to simmer for around 20 minutes (I think it was) or until vegetables are cooked. Stir through every now and then. Taste the sauce as well and adjust spices as needed.
    9. Squeeze lemon juice into the sauce pan and stir through.
    10. Serve with brown rice or quinoa.

20130605-192024.jpg

This isn’t your traditional thick sauced curry but I like it all the same. Good flavours and healthy as! Can’t go wrong. And like I said, now you’ll have tonnes of leftovers so you have no excuse for grabbing takeaway coz you’re too tired. Win win!

Until next time xo

P.S – sorry the photos aren’t that amazing but the lighting in our kitchen isn’t the best, plus it’s not one of those foods that looks like a million bucks ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

