Girls Night Part III: Warm Spinach & Artichoke Dip

Last but not least, a warm vege packed dip that I served in a wholemeal Vienna loaf. My friend Amanda made this when I was in Sydney so I asked for the recipe coz it was super yummy! I changed it a wee bit coz the original had mayo in it but I substituted it for Greek yogurt instead πŸ™‚ it’s got a fair bit of cheese in it but as long as it doesn’t have any preservatives or additives I’m okay with that – its a dip that would serve about 15 people so for a party or entertaining its fine!

20130721-102947.jpg

Warm Cheesy Spinach & Artichoke Dip

Ingredients
400gm can of artichokes in water
250 – 300 gm frozen spinach (thawed)
1/4 cup spring onion (I just used one spring onion), chopped
1 clove garlic
1/2 cup low fat Greek yogurt
1/2 cup light sour cream
2/3 cup grated Parmesan cheese (don’t buy the pre shredded stuff – they add preservatives to it to keep it like that!)
1/2 cup grated mozzarella cheese (again, buy a block and grate it yourself!) – the amount of cheese is up to you depending on how cheesy you like it πŸ™‚
1 wholemeal cob loaf (or Vienna loaf in my case coz they didn’t have wholemeal cob)

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 180 degrees
  2. In a food processor, chop up the artichokes, garlic, spring onion and spinach
  3. Combine the rest of ingredients in a bowl
  4. Place in an oven proof dish (I sprayed mine with olive oil just to be safe) and bake for 20-25 mins until hot and cheese is melted.
  5. Cut a whole in the middle of the bread and rip up the bread into bite size pieces – place the bits around the loaf and put in the oven for the last 5 minutes so make the bread crispy and warm.
  6. Spoon the dip into the middle of the bread and serve immediately!

To make it gluten free, obviously serve it with gluten free bread or in a separate bowl with crackers, carrot sticks and so on!

20130721-103026.jpg

Delicious! Here’s a photo of me looking super proud as I serve it up hehe πŸ˜‰

20130721-103133.jpg

Now I’m off to enjoy my last day of freedom with 2 of my best friends and goddaughter in Freo! I start my teaching prac on Monday for the whole of term 3! So hopefully ill be posting some more but it will be a pretty full on 8 weeks so see how I go! Wish me luck πŸ™‚

3 thoughts on “Girls Night Part III: Warm Spinach & Artichoke Dip

  1. Hi Hay Hay! I haven’t left a comment yet but I’ve been keeping up with your blog. This recipe looks delish! I do a similar one but only with spinach (I think that might be where Amanda got the idea for her recipe…) and it’s always a hit, I’m v keen to try this version out next time!

    -Sarah

  2. Pingback: Cob Loaf Dip | Daily Gluttony

Leave a Reply

