Apple & Berry Crumble

Hello again!

I’ve been house sitting my parents house down in mandurah for the past week and a half while they’re in the US (lucky ducks! Can’t wait until that’s me next year!) and I think the winter weather plus being back in my family home has got me craving classic winter desserts! When I used to live here and I didn’t live the clean eating lifestyle, I used to always eat the Nanna’s Apple Pies with ice cream during the winter months for dessert and being back here is making me crave it!

So, to satisfy my cravings without resorting to the packaged pies I know are sitting in the freezer, I decided to whip up my own yummy dessert! Instead of a pie, I’ve made a crumble but I’m happy with that coz I’m a sucker for those types of desserts (warm pies and crumbles are seriously my dessert weakness – give me them over cakes and brownies any day!).

20130813-201006.jpg

I looked to a few recipes online for guidance, but in the end I winged it and created my own recipe! They’re pretty easy things to make your own so you can change it up as you please, especially with the topping. You can add chopped nuts and dried fruit, use maple syrup or honey and the list goes on! Add more syrup to make it sweeter. The possibilities are endless! πŸ˜‰ so without further ado, my version of clean eating …

20130813-201107.jpg

Apple & Berry Crumble
Serves 2

Ingredients
1 apple, chopped
1/2 cup mixed berries
2 tsp organic agave syrup
1/2 cup rolled oats
2 tbsp wholemeal flour
1 tbsp olive oil
2 tsp desiccated coconut
1 tsp cinnamon

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 180 degrees.
  2. Add apple and berries in a medium pan with enough water for them to stew in.
  3. Simmer apple and berries for 5 or so minutes, or until soft.
  4. Mix together the oats, flour, coconut, oil and cinnamon with your fingers until it becomes crumble like in texture.
  5. Pour apple and berry mixture into a ramekin dish (you may want to grease it but mine was fine).
  6. Drizzle agave syrup over the mixture.
  7. Spoon crumble mixture over the top. Sprinkle with more cinnamon if desired πŸ˜‰
  8. Bake for 15 – 20 minutes or until golden on top.
  9. Serve while hot with a side of plain Greek yogurt (as a substitute for ice cream, otherwise it tastes great on its own!).

20130813-201152.jpg

Enjoy your classic winter comfort dessert, minus the guilt! I’m eating mine wrapped up in a blanket watching masterchef which is what generally makes me crave yummy food! At least I have my own tonight and don’t have to sit here drooling πŸ˜›

20130813-201229.jpg

xo

Leave a Reply

